Balcony report: Imperial Duke

This is the denim that started my rawww obsession, the Imperial Duke! I may have owned some used vintage Levi’s and admittedly some lame fashion jeans in the past, but this was the first new raw denim for me. It was the first time I stopped by Self Edge 3-4 years ago. I tried on a few jeans like Imperial, Sugar cane, Flat head, and Iron heart, to get the feel of different fittings. I like many of them but had to choose one. The Duke is a mid/high rise slim straight jeans. At the time, I wasn’t used to the really tight and uncomfy jeans, so I bought a tagged size 33. My usual waist size is 32. After a few months wears, the waist and thighs stretched out quite a lot. Though these are the slim straight jeans, the thighs are quite roomy. I should have got size 32, so if someone is looking to buy Imperial Duke, I’d recommend true-to-size.

They call their cut a ‘low yoke’ skinny/straight cut, but the jeans really feel like a mid/high rise. Maybe I’m not exactly sure what ‘low yoke’ means. The denim is 14.25 oz, but after many wears, it felt quite soft and thin. To be honest, I didn’t wear them as much after I got Sugar cane and PBJ. My Imperial hasn’t faded much yet. I’ve seen my friend’s Imperial Duke with heavy wears, and the fading is quite something. Another thing I like about Imperial jeans is that the selvedge line comes up all the way to the waistband, which gives that distinctive fading to the sides of the jeans. You can see the selvedge detail in the last 2 pictures. I’ll continue to update these when I get back on wearing them. From the pics, my Imperial is about 1 year ‘not-so-regular’ wear and one hot wash.

Imperial Duke tagged size 33 current measurement:

Waist = 33.50″
Thighs = 12″
Knee = 8.25″
Leg Opening = 8″
Front Rise = 11″
Rear Rise = 14″
Inseam (Hemmed) = 31.25″

9 comments on “Balcony report: Imperial Duke

  1. prameth says:

    Imperial is still fresh na bro

  2. ata_man says:

    Yep I want them to fade more but I’m busy with my other ‘nut-crushing’ jeans now. My SF Drybones is a pain but loving the color now! 🙂

  3. Yun Ropka says:

    Wohh just what I was searching for, regards for posting.

  4. Lilia Kopps says:

    Keep up the excellent work, I read few articles on this web site and I think that your weblog is real interesting and holds lots of superb information.

  5. Regards for helping out, wonderful info .

  6. Nate says:

    Hey, are u interested in selling these since you don’t wear often?

Leave a Reply

